Guinier Prize

The International Union of Crystallography Guinier Prize, honoring the great scientist and “father” of small-angle scattering, Professor André Guinier, is awarded at each Triennial SAS Meeting in recognition of lifetime achievement, a major breakthrough, or an outstanding contribution to the field of small-angle scattering.

Nominations for the prize are considered jointly by representatives of the Organizing Committee of the meeting and the IUCr Commission on Small-Angle Scattering. At SAS2018, the prize of US$5,000 will be presented and SAS2018 is contributing travel support by way of accommodation and registration for the winner.

We are pleased to announce that the 2018 Guinier Prize is awarded to Dr. Dmitri Svergun from the European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL), Hamburg, Germany.

Dmitri Svergun
Group Leader and Senior Scientist Hamburg

Dr. Svergun has made exceptional contributions across the entire small angle scattering arena, including instrumentation, software, analysis protocol, and theoretical approaches. With his body of work, he has chronicled an extensive publication list. In addition to his personal scientific achievements as a leader and innovator in the field, Dr. Svergun has been influential through his outreach to the technical community, his mentorship of graduate and post-doctoral students, and advancement in education. Dr. Svergun’s achievements, positive influence and strong contributions clearly make him a most deserving recipient of the Guinier Prize.

Jill Trewhella, past chair of IUCr Commission on Small-Angle Scattering, presents Dmitri Svergun, EMBL, Hamburg, Germany, with the 2018 Guinier Prize.


Call for Nominations for the 2018 Guinier Prize

The SAS2018 Organizing Committee and the International Union of Crystallography (IUCr) Commission on Small-Angle Scattering will present a prize of US$5000 in honour of the great scientist and ‘father’ of small-angle scattering Professor André Guinier at SAS2018. The Guinier Prize is given for lifetime achievement, a major breakthrough or an outstanding contribution to the field of small-angle scattering.


Nominations for the 2018 Guinier prize have been received and are now being evaluated by the prize committee. A nomination should contain:

(i)      justification for the nomination (max one page),

(ii)     a brief CV for the nominated person and

(iii)    a list of major publications.


Up to 3 letters of recommendation (one page each) may be submitted to support a nomination.


Nominations should be sent by e-mail by April 30, 2018 with the subject heading “Guinier Prize” to: Chair of the SAS2018 Program Committee ([email protected]) and Chair of the IUCr SAS Commission, U-Ser Jeng ([email protected]).

The prize jury will be composed of 5 members, 3 representatives from the SAS-2018 Organizing/Program Committee and 2 from the IUCr SAS commission.

The winner of the 2018 Guinier prize will be announced at the opening session of SAS2018 and invited to present a plenary lecture at the SAS2018 conference in Traverse City.

Previous recipients of the Guinier prize

  • 2015 – Sow-Hsin Chen (MIT, USA)
  • 2012 – Otto Glatter (University of Graz, Austria)
  • 2009 – Vittorio Luzzati (Centre de Génétique Moléculaire, CNRS, Gif-sur-Yvette, France)
  • 2006 – Heinrich B. Stuhrmann (GKSS Forschungszentrum Geesthacht, Germany)
  • 2002 – Michael Agamalian (ORNL, Oak Ridge, TN, USA)
Guinier Prize Sidebar